News item

Competition winners

A team from Kent beat off tough competition from schools from eight regions to become Young Consumers of the Year 2010.

The four boys won the title at the Trading Standards Institute’s Conference in Edinburgh today, taking home the College of Fellows trophy, medals and gift vouchers, plus £1,000 and multimedia equipment for their school.
Full press release

Pupils from Oxfordshire are celebrating after they emerged victorious at a national consumer knowledge quiz for children with learning difficulties.

The team of four from Woodeaton Manor School won the Consumer Challenge Quiz national final, held at the Trading Standards Institute (TSI) annual conference and exhibition in Edinburgh this week.

Five teams participated in the closely run final; Walton Hall School from Staffordshire, Cynon Taf - Ysgol Hen Felin from Rhondda, Hazel Oak School from Solihull and King Edward Seventh Science & Sports College from Leicestershire . Full press release

The clever creativity of Ashleigh Beattie, Chelsea Esplin and Mhairi Robertson from Cathkin High School, South Lanarkshire has been rewarded with the top prize in a national competition to design toys which are fun - but also safe.

Cathkin High School’s winning brainchild is a Marvyn Monkey’s Wonder Fun toy that flashes colours and numbers that a child has to find on the monkey’s body and has a dual function by transforming into a nightlight and playing a lullaby in its night-mode.

The design was chosen as the winner of the Playsafe competition at the Trading Standards Institute’s Conference in Edinburgh this week.

The 6-11 year-olds category was won by Rebekka Wearon, 10, from Holywell Primary School in Kent with her design  ‘Nature Time’ and the runner-up was Ben Lord, 10, from Friezland Primary School, Manchester with his design ‘The All Terrain Hurricane’.

Woodlands School from Edinburgh designed ‘The Greedy With Adventure Game’ winning the special schools category. Full press release