Degree exemptions

The Chartered Trading Standards Institute (CTSI) has accredited universities which offer consumer related degrees. These degrees and qualifying law degrees (a law degree that satisfies the outcomes from the Law Society) offer potential exemptions in the trading standards professional qualifications framework.

The exemptions are subject to the completion date of your degree and the pass mark for each module.

Universities that delivered a CTSI accredited degree are:
University of Wales Cardiff, Manchester Metropolitan University, Teesside University, Nottingham Trent University, Glasgow Caledonian University.

For example; possible exemptions available from the consumer protection degree at Manchester Metropolitan University:

  • CSCATS Legal Systems Examination
  • CSCATS Consumer Protection Environment
  • CSCATS Law of Contract and Tort
  • Consumer Credit
  • Fair Trading Criminal
  • Fair Trading Civil
  • Food Standards
  • Product Safety
  • Money Advice
  • Intellectual Property
  • Legal Metrology Weights and Measure Technology and Law
  • HDCATS Management of Quality
  • HDCATS Management of Regulatory Services

Qualifying Law degrees give you potential exemptions from two examinations in the professional qualifications framework:

  • Foundation Legal Systems
  • Foundation Law of Contract and Tort.