Login / Register/ Consumer Helpline 03454 04 05 06

CTSI Professional Competency Framework (CPCF)

As a result of the recent qualification review, CTSI Council have identified the needs of the profession and determined that a competency framework for Trading Standards Practitioners (TSP) to work within is required. The new Trading Standards Practitioner Diploma (TSPD) qualification will form part of the CTSI Professional Competency Framework (CPCF). There is also an exit point available after Stage one where a TSP can gain the Trading Standards Practitioner Certificate (TSPC).

 Stage 1 - Trading Standards Practitioner Certificate (TSPC) 

Is aligned to level four of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) and consists of three units (units 1-3). 

Stage 2 - Trading Standards Practitioner Diploma (TSPD) 
Is aligned to level five of the NQF and consists of three units (units 4-6). 

Stage 3 - Trading Standards Advanced Practitioner - Degree Level (TSAP) 
Is aligned to level six of the NQF and will consist of a 8,000 word project that is of benefit to to the authority, region or the profession.






May 2019 TSQF resit exam results

Exam results from the TSQF resit exams, which took place in May 2019, have now been emailed to students.

Please advise the Education Department if you believe you are due to receive exam results but have not yet received an email.


CPCF Update


The Stage 1 and 2 training dates starting from September and the online registration booking page for the May 2020 examinations will be available from July 2019.


The registration and completion deadlines for each cycle are as follow:

Examination Type

November 2019 Cycle May 2020 Cycle
Written  31-Oct 2019 31-Apr 2020
Practical and oral* 01-Oct 2019  01-Apr 2020 
Coursework** 01-Sep 2019  01-Mar 2020

*   Portfolios must be submitted and completed by this date in order for you to be able to sit your practical and or oral exam

** Coursework must be submitted and completed by this date in order for you to be able to sit your written exam

There will be one main exam cycle each year from May 2020 and a resit cycle available between September and November (month to be confirmed)


Stage 1 Coursework

The Stage 1 Coursework information, guidance and schedule are now available in the qualifications resources area


CPCF Qualification Resources


Read more

Units & Stages

You may also like

Follow us on twitter @ctsi_uk

© 2019 Chartered Trading Standards Institute. All rights reserved.

1 Sylvan Court Sylvan Way, Southfields Business Park, Basildon, Essex, SS15 6TH.
Company no. RC000879

Website by: