Login / Register/ Consumer Helpline 03454 04 05 06

Modules and subject areas

Diploma in Consumer Affairs and Trading Standards (DCATS)

To achieve the DCATS qualification, candidates will need to have passed the CSCATS award and gain a minimum of 4 modules (3 modules if you complete Legal Metrology) from the subjects below:

  • Fair trading (criminal)
  • Legal metrology
  • Product safety
  • Animal health
  • Food standards
  • Agricultural
  • Fair trading (civil)
  • Intellectual property
  • Advice, resolution and redress
  • Intelligence Investigative Principles

Examinations will need to be completed for all modules. Legal Metrology and Animal Health and Welfare have a technical skills portfolio of evidence in addition to the examination.

In addition to written examinations, there will be practical and oral examinations for the following modules: Food Standards, Agricultural and Legal Metrology.


Follow us on twitter @ctsi_uk

© 2018 Chartered Trading Standards Institute. All rights reserved.

1 Sylvan Court Sylvan Way, Southfields Business Park, Basildon, Essex, SS15 6TH.
Company no. RC000879

Website by: