Login IconLogin / Register/ Consumer Helpline delivered by Citizens Advice 0808 223 1133

Trading Standards Policy Areas

Trading Standards covers 9 main policy areas of Consumer Protection:

  1. Regulatory Enforcement and Environment
  2. Business & Consumer Legal Frameworks
  3. Trading Standards Law
  4. Weights and Measures
  5. Food Standards
  6. Feed
  7. Product Safety
  8. Investigations
  9. Regulatory Markets

These are further broken down into a more detailed list - incorporating the various areas of trading standards work. Within each area, the institute has specific Subject-Matter Experts (or Lead Officers), who provide valuable advice and guidance to their fellow members. They are also often called upon to speak at public, governmental or industry events, or provide specialist insight in the print and broadcast media.

Key Operational Subject Areas:

    1. Age Restricted Sales
    2. Agriculture
    3. Animal Health and Welfare
    4. Civil Law
    5. Consumer Advice
    6. Consumer Education
    7. Consumer and Product Safety
    8. Cross-Border Issues
    9. Doorstep Crime
    10. Energy, Smart Meters and Climate Change
    11. E-Commerce
    12. E-Crime
    13. Explosives
    14. Fair Trading and Trades Descriptions
    15. Food and Nutrition
    16. Hallmarking
    17. Health
    18. Metrology
    19. Motor Trade
    20. Petroleum
    21. Prices
    22. Property and Lettings 
    23. Road Traffic 
    24. Scams
    25. Travel and the Holiday Industry.

If you are a representative of a media organisation, please let us know if you would like our Lead Officers to comment on any areas of consumer protection (including any technical questions), or if you have any further enquirers regarding the Lead Officer network: [email protected]



© 2024 Chartered Trading Standards Institute. All rights reserved.

1 Sylvan Court Sylvan Way, Southfields Business Park, Basildon, Essex, SS15 6TH.
Company no. RC000879

Investors in People and Customer excellence award logos

Website by: