Login / Register/ Consumer Helpline 0808 223 1133

Trading Standards professional qualifications (CPCF)

 The CTSI professional competency framework (CPCF) consists of three levels of qualifications to be achieved. 

  • Trading Standards Practitioner Certificate
  • Trading Standards Practitioner Diploma
  • Trading Standards Advanced Practitioner (degree Level)

Each level has various subject areas and assessments to be undertaken and successfully completed to achieve the award


Registration into the CPCF is necessary for candidates to enter for examinations and assessments 





Unit 4: Laboratory Equipment – Metrology (Northern Ireland Candidates)

We are pleased to announce that the additional Unit 4 subject for individuals wishing to complete Stage 2 from Northern Ireland has been approved by the Qualifications and Awards Board (QAB).

The new Unit will act as an optional subject requirement from Unit 4 Northern Ireland candidates.

This means that candidates from Northern Ireland will now complete Unit 4: Weights and Measures and additionally, Unit 4: Laboratory Equipment – Metrology.

Please contact the Qualifications team via email if you have any questions regarding the above via qualifications@tsi.org.uk.

Nothern Ireland Unit


CPCF Training Dates (September in preparation for May)

CPCF training taking place from September 2020 will be held online.

We are hoping revision days will be available at venues but will need to be confirmed in due course and the decision will be based on government guidelines and venue availability.

A link for the online training sessions will be sent from the training provider with joining instruction.

Bookings are to continue to be made via the online booking page.

Training Courses


CPCF Extensions Update

The QAB confirmed that students within Stage 2 of the CTSI professional competency framework (CPCF) will be granted a portfolio extension until April 2021.

Please see link below for more information: 


Training Courses

You may also like

Follow us on twitter @ctsi_uk

© 2020 Chartered Trading Standards Institute. All rights reserved.

1 Sylvan Court Sylvan Way, Southfields Business Park, Basildon, Essex, SS15 6TH.
Company no. RC000879

Website by: